View Single Post
Minderwiz's Avatar
Minderwiz  Minderwiz is offline
Student of Astrology
Join Date: 20 Apr 2002
Location: Wigan, UK
Posts: 7,888

There are actually two types of planetary movements (three if you treat Retrograde as being a separate movement.

The first is called primary motion and is linked to the diurnal motion of the Earth, that is the revolution of the Earth on its axis. That motion causes planets to appear to rise ( that is pass the Ascendant), culminate (reach the MC), set (pass the Descendant) and finally anti-culminate (reach the IC). This process occurs daily. A chart is a snapshot of this motion at one point in time. Some software allows you to animate the chart and you can watch this happening. Primary motion is always clockwise, planet rising in the East and setting in the West.

The other type of motion is called Secondary Motion and is produced by the Earth's orbit around the Sun. This is what I think you are referring to. when you mention quadrants. It is anti-clockwise (counter clockwise in the USA) that is the planets move through the zodiac, though at different speeds. Which ever quadrant they are in, they still move through the zodiac from Aries to Pisces.

The direction of secondary motion is not constant though. When planets turn Retrograde they move in a clockwise direction like diurnal motion.

These periods can be from a couple of weeks like Mercury to many months like Pluto. However even allowing for Retrograde periods the general secondary motion of the planets is anti-clockwise.
Top   #4