timing of an event

MandMaud

I should say I'm a VERY beginning beginner. At the moment I can't put the time in to study seriously so I'm happy dabbling, playing with ideas, making no effort to get any better at astrology, master techniques or remember terminology. Like the pre-verbal stage of language learning, lots of shapeless impressions, which all feed the fluency that comes years later. Meaning, please don't get too techy at me. :) One day I'll get as far as real "sentences" in the subject!

(This is the way I always learn, I don't have a problem with un-learning bad habits, which is the reason people like to tell me not to play without proper instruction.)

My question is how to pick the time to base the chart on for a wedding. Horary isn't even something I've really looked into - learnt most from Minderwiz's recent reading for me in his thread. (Thanks, Minderwiz!) For a wedding that happened yesterday, if I don't find out the time of the service I'll do a chart for noon, but what should it be ideally - the start time of the service, or the moment the vows are spoken, which is about half an hour later but no one looks at the clock, do they?

dadsnook2000

What about . . .

What about "I now pronounce you Man and Wife?"

Larxene

MandMaud,

There are varying opinions on this, as can be witnessed by reading this thread: http://www.astrologyweekly.com/forum/showthread.php?t=74848

However, unless you are the bride or groom, I believe that the start of the ceremony gives a good indication of the nature of the wedding.

Picking a time for doing something is called "elections", not horary, although they are related. Horary concerns things whose results are less in your control, while elections is better when dealing with things whose results are more in your control (like choosing a wedding date for yourself).

To "elect" simply means to "choose", by the way: http://www.etymonline.com/index.php?term=election

I hope that's not too much jargon for you.

MandMaud