"Breath" Meditation Lamp

The Happy Squirrel

Sorry I am not sure where to post meditation topic!
In any case, I am just beginning to learn how to do mindful meditation, and I find it very hard not to have my mind wonders off all the time....

I have an app on my device where it chimes with the singing bowl of your choice at the start of your meditation, every several minutes depending on how you set it up, and at the end. This was helpful I thought... But I am still learning....

So I am curious that this lamp provides a visual rather than an acoustic cue, and how folks who have been meditating a lot longer than I have think about this...

Thanks in advance!

Laura Borealis

It seems like it could be very helpful. I love the blue color, too.

It doesn't seem to be adjustable though, and I wonder, surely not everyone breathes calmly and slowly at exactly the same pace? I'd want an option to just use it as a lamp as well...

I bet there are videos on YouTube that do much the same thing, and you mentioned apps. I've even seen animated gifs that are meant to be breathed with to help calm the viewer, those those were slanted toward people with anxiety issues.

I've been practicing meditation on and off for a few years. The main thing I've noticed that helps is just keeping at it. From what I read, even super serene monks will have their minds wander. They just redirect it better than I can with my jumpy little monkey brain :)

The Happy Squirrel

Hi Laura!
I think the force pacing is useful because someone like me tend to breath too fast.... Especially when stressed.... Maybe it is designed for beginners..?
This animated gif you are mentioned, is this an app? If so could you share what it is called?
:)
I have just bought the Buddhify 2 app, I was expecting it to be like the Insight Timer, but it is more of a guided mindfulness meditation on the go, which is nice too.
:)
I am thinking of backing this project.....

Tanga