Getting published

Kitch

Greetings all, I'm a new member seeking advice. I'm actually an aspiring digital illustrator/artist that started a tarot project at the beginning of this year in my studies. I came across this forum while furthering my research, and am amazed at how established this community is.

Anyway, I'm starting to consider options for publishing and am wondering whether anyone can recommend certain tarot publishers to look into?

Unfortunately, I can't release any examples of my work at this stage due to copyrights and the like (it's a pretty unique concept), but I hope to have it finalised by the end of the year.

I also noticed you're giving a presentation in Australia next month, Major Tom. Are you covering any publishing matters in your talk?

Rusty Neon

Kitch said:
Greetings all, I'm a new member seeking advice. I'm actually an aspiring digital illustrator/artist that started a tarot project at the beginning of this year in my studies. I came across this forum while furthering my research, and am amazed at how established this community is.

There's certainly a potential market for well-done digital graphics decks as witnessed by the success of ho-hum quality digital graphics decks: e.g., Gilded Tarot: http://www.aeclectic.net/tarot/cards/gilded/

Astra

Aw, c'mon, RN, Gilded isn't that bad. And sniping isn't much fun to see, either.

Kitch, there are only three main publishers currently; Llewellyn, US Games, and Lo Scarabeo. At this point, although you can submit to the first two, they generally tend to commission the decks they want. Lo Scarabeo carries its own staff of artists, and don't buy much, if anything, from the outside. There are several threads around that go into the current market in depth, so do some hunting through the past year. (Hudson Gray or Major Tom can probably give you some specific threads to search, but I'd have to try keyword searching)