which book first

connegrl

So I'm going to order the Thoth. Once I saw the Knight of Pentacles it was a done deal. I know that look on the horses face. I've not seen a horse done right on any of the other decks I've checked out. For an animal that symbolizes freedom and power its just wrong that an artist can't get it right. Not only that but all the other images just draw me in.

I'm a rank beginner at Tarot and have been working with a RWS version. I got a Robin Wood and worked with it for two weeks and then decided that if I was going to do it I should use the original. After working with my RWS for awhile, I find that I can actually read the Robin Wood, but find it insipid. Everyone raves about this deck and I don't care for it. Didn't care for the Druidcraft either when I looked at a sample copy. Mostly tho it was the card stock. I don't want to waste time with a deck that won't hold up to being used. And I'm just not interested in fluff. I'm doing this just for myself. Not to learn to read for others. No cats or fairies. I want lots of depth. And I don't want to become a deck collector. I have a horse that sucks up all my extra money!

So, I've barely got my feet wet and I'm preparing to jump into the ocean. None of the books that I have are going to help me out much with the Thoth. I know eventually I will need to wade thru the Book of Thoth and it looks like there are other books by AC that I'll eventually want to add to my collection. I just don't want to overwhelm myself right now. I know that there are a couple books that are mentioned alot on this forum to help with understanding the thoth. Which one first??? DuQuette or??? My bank account isn't bottomless. I need to map out my book strategy. LOL I need a foundation to add to.

Thanks!

Jen

Edge