SWOT analysis

Rachx

So being a Business Development Manager I have been playing with spreads to give me insight before meetings with prospective and existing customers - with a bit of success.

I have now tried the spread for relationships but feel I need an added card- maybe an outcome card or something? Any thoughts welcome.

Basically the spread is a square of four cards and they can be read separately and then together as various pairs and then again as whole.

Cards 1-2 S-W
3-4 O-T

So standard swot analysis Strengths, Weaknesses, Opportunities, Threats.

Reading it - as separate cards but then looking at pairings so diagonally, how Strengths can help combat Threats for example.

Has anyone any feelings about laying a fifth card maybe as a wild card or outcome card etc... particularly with regard to relationships and not just situations? Thank you x

Barleywine

My current practice with extra cards is to lay a wild card face-down to the side when I deal the spread. I look at the rest of the cards to see if any of them seems to be unclear or troublesome, than I pair the wild card up with it to see if that offers any help. In your case, if any of the SWOT positions lacks definition or clarity, I would turn over the wild card and apply it there.

Another thing I've done is create a small "follow-up" spread that I can plug the problem card into as a significator, and see where it takes me.

Rachx

Thank you - I guess the wild card could serve as an outcome/base/clarifier or whatever as and when required. I'm doing this spread for sales situations and I haven't needed an extra card because I've just analysed the situation if you like, got the snapshot before I go to my meeting.