Newbie here, do I have to learn on Rider waite?

GlamGemini

Hello!

Am a newbie here, and very new to Tarot. I've a couple of decks, mythic tarot from years ago which never gets used, and I've just got the Celestial Tarot, which is really right up my street with all the astrology as i've been into astrology for years and it really speaks to me.

However, I'm panicking as I'm wondering do I have to learn on a rider waite deck first? would that be best? Yet I just can't get anything from RWS, the pics don't do anything for me at all.

Help please! Also i'm finding tarot apps really good and really helpful in my learning as well which is something i didn't expect.

Cocobird55

No, you don't have to learn on the RWS. Go with the deck that resonates with you.

GlamGemini

Think thats what I'm going to do, with my Celestial Tarot, it seems to be the one i'm having the most fun with and it seems chatty and light.

I'm just worried I'm not going to learn it 'properly' by not starting with RWS, and learning all the meanings? but just seems so boring. I'm learning well this way, just playing with my deck and looking up the meanings online. And playing on various apps and getting to know new decks. The Druid Craft one has really surprised me, lovely meanings and interpretations from what I've seen.

Redfaery

You do not have to learn on a RWS. You do not even have to own a RWS. It's *useful* to have one and to be familiar with the imagery and symbolism, because it's so common, but you're not doing it "improperly" by starting with a deck you like. The way you're going now sounds like it's working perfectly well for you. IMO, that's what matters.

GlamGemini

Phew, thank you. Its good to know. I can see how we all learn in such different ways, that's what's so good about it all.

Am having lots of fun learning and that's important that its not boring!

Astraea