Learning the RWS system when coming from the Thoth school

Nosgo

Hello ATers,

I've started learning Tarot nearly two years ago with the Thoth deck that was gifted to me by my mother. I felt incredibly attracted by this deck and started to learn as much as possible of it. I've bought the main books about it to study it seriously and I can now say that even if I'm not an expert of the Thoth (rather hard task for sure), I feel at least at home with it (I would say intermediate level).

To increase my tarot knowledge and try something different I've come to order the RWS centennial deck and the Benebell Wen book to go with it. I'm still discovering the deck and its subtilities but I'm having a hard time because of my "Thoth knowledge". Some meanings are quite the same, but some cards are (apparently) completely different and when I use the cards, I have to restrain myself going with my habitual meanings (no Qabbalah correspondence etc). Furthermore, the use of reversal is somewhat intimidating.

The fact that it is considered a beginner friendly deck add to my frustration of feeling a bit stupid. I know I won't learn the RWS system in a weak but I don't know, I'm having hard times.

Any advices or experience from peoples who were familiar with a system and decide de learn something different? How did it go for you? How did you handle the difficulties? Did you had to change your learning method? Can you pass on the use of reversal with the RWS like with the Thoth?

Abrac