Recurring Cards

littleanna27

I'm somewhat new in the tarot world but I've been semi-seriously reading for a little while. My question is about recurring cards.

So recently, I've been having some serious issues with a partner. He's pulled away almost completely and he says he knows we need to talk but he's not ready for it yet. I'm being patient but, obviously, doing a lot of tarot because I'm so lost and confused.

Anyway, 4 cards are recurring a lot over the last week or so, since these problems came to the fore;
Knight of Pentacles (responsibility, reliability, commitment)
2 of Swords (conflict resolution)
6 of Cups (going back to a better time)
and even the Lovers quite often.

So now, they seem like pretty good cards but, seeing how helpless the situation is, I'm so confused by the cards. I know the Lovers doesn't exactly spell LOVE as in head-over-heels in love but it's more about making a choice. So, my question is; how much weight do you put on recurring cards? And am I looking through rose-colored glasses because I want this to work? How do I rectify a good reading when my head keeps telling me not to get my hopes up?

I'm sorry, this isn't a totally a reading-related question. I guess I want to know;
-do recurring cards highlight something?
-how much weight do you put on recurring cards?

Interested to know other people's perspectives on this.

SuperSirius

I tend to pay attention to recurrent cards, they can show an overarching theme or ideas that are surrounding a situation, but they still primarily apply to the reading/position they appear in.

If the same cards are appearing in spreads for unrelated topics, that could either indicate that you are allowing some influence of your own to interfere with your reading, or that you aren't shuffling well enough. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Sztar