Need a lot of help

helleena

Well I am new to the Tarot. A friend of mine bought a set of Tarot cards (I have no idea what deck it was, I was not impressed with them). I got really interested in the reading of Tarot cards. So I went and bought a set called "The Introduction to Tarot". It had a book titled the same, 2 decks of cards (Rider-Waite and the Crowley Throth), and a journal book. I read the book and tryed the Rider-Waite deck when I started doing my 30 day journal. Well I just could not get the deck to shufle for me at all. I desided to try the Crowley Throth deck and that has been working for me since. The only thing is that the book that I have I really don't understand alot of the basic stuff in it and I don't feel that it explaines a hole lot either. Can anyone tell me what if there are any, books that will and can help me out on this. I have been really discuraged lately and I have not picked up my cards for about a month. And It is all because I don't understand some things that others might think is minor but I think that it is a big deal that I need to understand before I go back and try them again. Any info will help.
hellena

lionette

hi helleena,

Sorry to hear you've been discouraged, but I fully understand that about the Thoth! It can do that!

I've found "The Crowley Tarot: Handbook to the Cards" by Akron and Banzhaf, Hajo really helpful because of their breakdown of the symbolism. Gives both the light and shadow qualities of each card, and lots of detail about the artwork. (like it more for the card descriptions than the card interpretations)

Hope it helps! :)

Phoenyx*

Helleena,