Renaissance Festival Readings

Woodsong

I've done email readings for quite a while (although I've just taken a rather long break) ... but am now considering setting up a booth at a startup local Renaissance Fair (beginning next spring).

I've never done this before, so have no idea what "gotcha's" I might run into. For instance, is booth location better near the entrance -- near the drinks -- near the bathrooms -- etc. I'm thinking of doing mainly "quicky" 2 card readings -- my main goal being to pass around business cards and build up my mailing list for my email readings. Was thinking of offering free readings, but others have suggested it's best to charge for them.

I've heard of someone doing a "1 card, 1 yes/no answer, 1 dollar" thing -- but don't know how I feel about it.

What about staffing? Do you need a "barker" to gather prospects -- or will a single-person operation work?

I'll probably set up in a pavillion-style tent this go round -- if it goes well, will look into building a gypsy-wagon for future events. Costumes for the Fair are no problem.

Does anyone sell things other than readings? Cards, books, CD's, etc -- or is it just readings?

Any tips, thoughts, or advice will be gratefully accepted!

Sheri

I did my first Ren Faire last summer. I treated it just like reading at a psychic fair or other expo... just in costume and such.

The Faire I did (and am doing again this year) was very stringent on the appearance of the booths, and require vendors each year to submit photos of booths before being accepted. I didn't have a choice where my booth was, but had a good location and did VERY well.

I offered 2 prices for readings: $5.00 "quickies" and my usual $20 for 15/20 min readings. I will NOT be doing that this year. With the $5 readings, the sitters still expected more and they weren't that popular. This year, I'm just offering $20 readings.