Major Arcana Cards in Daily Reading

Chimerical

I asked about a reading over on the Readings thread and tge question of how to interpret Major Arcana cards in this context came up. (I'm very new to tarot!)

Do we still bother to take note of Major/Minor distinctions when it's a daily reading?

I was thinking maybe the appearance of a Major card could mean the card is likely to show up in multiple ways--thematically? Or is that still reading too much into it?

How do you guys interpret them?

rwcarter

A Major may reflect the biggest thing that happened that day, although in the grand scheme of things it may not be all that major an occurrence.

For example, the Chariot could mean car trouble, the Empress might mean a call from your mother, the Emperor could be an email from your father, The Tower might be a realization, the Hanged Man could represent someone who left you hanging that day, etc.

Retrospect should be able to tell you how that Major played out in your day. And if you're having a hard time reconciling that Major with your day, then it appeared in such an inconsequential manner that you didn't even notice it. Not so Major after all then. ;)

Rodney

Farzon

As usually, it depends šŸ˜Š.
Of course it can be a very big thing in a daily reading as well. I think usually, we know if we have to expect something big coming up.

In most of the cases, I would say it's just like Rodney said and the challenge is to really see the major's mundane meanings.

Barleywine

I also agree with Rodney. I once had the Tower appear three days in a row, and three separate minor "disasters" fulfilled that promise. At times they can be that literal, but more often I've experienced them as less remarkable, like a "blip" on a flat-lined radar trace.

Chimerical

Awesome--thanks guys.