Importance of symbols or actual meanings of cards

QueenKhepera

Hi guys! Newbie here! So, I want to start practicing online readings on others for my first official readings. Lately, when I've been looking up info on tarot, I've seen a LOT about intuition. And I am kind of a rebellious soul. I love to do things MY way. So my question is....is it really important to actually learn the symbols and meanings of the suits...or does anyone just wholeheartedly use their intuition for readings without the symbolic meaning behind the cards?

CrystalSeas

You can read cards any way you like. There's no Tarot Police that will take away your deck because you don't use the usual meanings.

However, you'll find it's easiest to get assistance with puzzling readings if you're using the same agree-upon meanings as everyone else.

It's kind of like inventing your own language. As long as you're the only person writing in your language, it doesn't matter what the words mean. They mean what you say they mean. If you don't understand what "rizmultr" means, you just make something up.

But if you want to ask "When I was reading for my friend, the 9 of Wands came up as the "Outcome" card. For me that means her house is about to burn down, but that doesn't make sense because she asked about her boyfriend. Can anyone help me interpret this?"

No one will be able to help because no one knows your language. All they will be able to offer is "Well, 9 of Wands is usually interpreted as standing your ground after a battle. Perhaps she'll be feeling particularly bruised and battered because she and her boyfriend will have a lot of conflict this week"

That's fine for everyone who uses the same symbology, but it won't help you at all because it won't be what the 9 of Wands means to you. You'll still be looking for assistance about how losing her home relates to her boyfriend. And you'll be the only person who has any clue what it means because you're the only person who speaks that language