pros and cons of resin incense?

.traveller.

I recently bought some charcoal disks to use with my herbal incense and the shop included a list of various resins that they sell. I've never used resins before and I was curious as to what people thought of them.

Skydancer

fantastic - fantastic - and did I mention fantastic?!!

Copal is delicious on charcoal blocks. Just a little. Frankincense is great. Even sandlewood chips. Wonderful!! Also, mugwort for fun!! green or dried. But obviously not a resin!!

I haven't met a resin I haven't like. And that's the truth!! :)

Enjoy!

Annie
*S*

lunafae

I Have resin and charcoal disks but I am unsure how to light to charcoal safely and which container to use. I decided to try it and I cracked the ceramic plate I light the charcoal disk on but luckily i lit it outside as I had a feeling i didn't trust it. I'd like to give it another try but unsure which is the best way to light them of which holder is safer.

I have stuck to using incense and smudge sticks as I find them safer andmy ash catcher picks up the mess left behind. Ive found moon incense tulasi to be my favourite.

Seafra

I looove resin! My burner has a channel that I fill with the resin, no charcoal needed. To stop the burning I just have to make a break in the line of resin.

thinbuddha

I use resins on occasion. I like them better than sticks or smudging, though it is a bit of a learning curve to get the burn properly. Anyone can burn charcoal and place resin right on the hot coals, but to get the slow burn (which seems to be the best result for my taste) takes a bit of practice.... I'm still no expert.

If you do it right, you can get resins to slowly boil (rather burning in a smokey inferno). The smell is better, longer lasting and (best of all) smokeless. It's like burning a candle or heating oils, and the scent is perfectly natural.