How long did it take you since you started learning Tarot to get professional?

Frannie

Hi all
I am not a professional reader yet, I have a looong way to go before that, but the thinking of becoming one one day keeps me going on my studies with more enthusiasm as each day goes by. I am curious about one thing. I know everyone is different and have developed their reading skills in different frames of time, and that quality is not equivalent to more time, but, how long (months, years) did you study and practiced before feeling confident enough to read professionaly? I know the answers will vary from person to person, just a thought that came to me while reading in this section :)

Grizabella

Well, when I first got the idea to read the cards for strangers and charge money for it, I figured I'd be ready to hang out a shingle in about a month. :p I mean, how long can it take to memorize the meanings for 78 cards, anyway?

But a little while into that first month, my ideas changed dramatically and the "finish line" started looking more like 30 years away than 30 days away!

I didn't get brave enough to charge money till a couple of years ago and I've been using the cards for almost 8 years now. Just like the old saying, "The more I know, the more I know I don't know".

NightQueen

well I started when I was 14, and I guess went pro by 19 so 5 yrs all up, but do take into consideration I was young and in my teens, people who learn tarot at a more mature age, and have more understanding of life could very well go pro within 6 mths, I've seen it happen, but I say for as long as we are alive we are learning, for as long as we hold our deck in our hands we are still learning
Blessed Be

Frannie