Question About Text Placement

acaciadraws

Hey all,

My name's Acacia and I'm currently an art student working on my senior thesis project. I'm finally making my own tarot deck! But my thesis advisor brought up a good point: does the place of the text on the card matter?

I've always seen the card name on the bottom in a banner separate from the image. Is sticking to this important at all? I've tried googling to the best of my ability and while I have multiple books about Tarot, none of them are really about the process behind making a deck. I figured all you great folks might be able to offer some insight.

Thanks!

tarotbear

You might check some of the threads in the Deck Creation forum and see pictures of decks people are developing. There is also a thread there about 'I wish I had known before I started this deck that ...'

Does the placing of the text matter? 99% of the time it is at the bottom and outside the frame/borders of the image. The text/name of card realistically is unimportant in the scheme of things, and many people will tell you that they wished certain decks did NOT have text (or numbers) AT ALL since many times the text competes with the image and you are there to read the cards, not the text (or the copyright and company as a few decks have).

People also detest a text in multiple languages taking up space on the card - once again - how much space are you going to waste with a text in 4-6 languages when it doesn't really need to be there to begin with?

The other consideration is borders- many decks have borders that make the image smaller - ditch the wide fancy-schmancy border and give us more image to look at. Some people just hate the white border and wish the images went all the way to the cut lines, like the images in the Morgan-Greer do.

Does the title HAVE to be in a border or a little banner? No.

reall

in my personal experience I think it depends on your audience?
i.e professionals prefer no text no borders!
and beginners text!