using the thoth vs. knowing it

fractalgranny

hi all -

i've been using the tarot for many years but only started really studying it about 3 years ago. it all started with the crow's magick (the forth deck i owned at the time), which suddenly drew me to the tarot in a powerful way that still delights me.

i only recently realized that there is something "thothy" about that deck. so here is my question: in terms of reading, i typically err on the intuitive side, i.e. i am very image based (a la dusty white perhaps) and just let myself respond to the images. doesn't mean i don't pay any attention at all to so-called "traditional" meanings or LWB meanings but they definitely are secondary to what i see in the imagery. that's also why i actively work with quite a few decks - choosing what feels like the right deck for the question is an important part of the reading for me.

i have the thoth, two decks closely based on the thoth (rosetta and hermetic) and then a bunch of "thothy" decks. here's the question: what, if any, are the pitfalls of working with thoth and thoth-type decks when you don't know that much about thoth and the qabala? i have read duquette's thoth book and listened to a few of his videos but that's pretty much the extent of my knowledge of the thoth. i'm not much into astrology or the qabala and to this day don't see the point of numerology - with this limited knowledge, am i missing too much about the intricacies of the thoth and thoth based cards?

Zephyros

Yep, you are, in fact, missing out.

It's like Chinese food. You go to a restaurant and tell the waiter not to put any soy sauce in your food, you don't like stir-fry, you don't eat meat or most vegetables. At a certain point, you know, maybe you should consider eating someplace else. You've listed all the things that make a Thoth deck a Thoth deck... but you don't want any of that.

So... honestly, if I were you I wouldn't bother.

Barleywine