Death and The Moon

Arnnaria

This is my first post, so I might as well introduce myself here. I'm a new student of the Tarot. I bought my first pack of cards for fun and they were really hard to use as the minor arcana didn't have any pictures or symbols on them. I retired that deck and bought a new Universal Waite Tarot deck this semester and have been learning from it. It is a pleasant experience.

My question/rambling was the significance of the two pillars on the Death card and the Moon. On Death we see two obelisk pillars off in the distances with holes at the top of them. We see the sun rising obviously remarking that this is a "rebirth" of sorts. But is it?

Look at The Moon card. When I see The Moon card I see the exact same two pillars. If you look at the outline of the moon too, you could also kind of see that the sun may be behind it. This offers a different perspective on Death. From one angle death is a rebirth, yes, but from the other angle we have The Moon card which represents our fears. Notice that the long road from this perspective leads through the pillars and will eventually take us to death. Do we take this road and pass through our fears or do we stay in our comfortably numb position with the lobster and dogs.

I guess I don't have a question, just kind of rambling on and on. If anyone has any input or advice or has seen this similarity too, let me know. Thanks.

Fulgour

just a note...

Oswald Wirth wrote that the towers on the Moon
stand as sentries to warn The Fool. He was the one
who first introduced the winding road to this card,
which in his view, also astronomically marks the
path of the Sun ~ between Cancer and Capricorn.

Parzival

Death and the Moon

Let us take the path up and up, through our instinctive fears , between the extremes that lead us astray-- wild fantasy (right tower) and fixed obsession (Left tower).

Vincent

Fulgour said:
Oswald Wirth wrote that the towers on the Moon
stand as sentries to warn The Fool.