The Hierophant (and followup merged)

STARGAZING

The Hierophant

I am very new to the Tarot. And new to this site also.

I have a question about the Religion of the artist in the Ryder-Waite deck. Does anyone know the Religion of the deck. The ceptor on this card has the symbol.

Thank you

STARGAZING

Follow Up To The Hierophant

Hi Again,

So am I to assume that this is not an important thing to know in studying this deck, and this card in particular ????? I know I have had no luck myself in trying to find out the answer to the Religion of the writer of the deck.

Your help in this would be greatly appreciated.

Stargazing

lark

Hi STARGAZER
Waite was a member of the order of the Golden Dawn.
I don't know what religion he was, I don't think any in the way that society would define religion.

Pamela (Pixie) Colman Smith the artist who drew the cards was also a Golden Dawn member.
She later became a devote Catholic.

The Rider-Waite Smith deck has a vast array of symbolism from many different religions.
Not just one. I hope this helps.

Original Destiny

Religion has no meaning here... its what the cards say to our inner mind that counts... each card has an image... let this image seep into your mind and let it speak to you..

poivre

I also think that the religion is of the reader. The reader will identify with their own belief system.

Kiama

Although I agree with what has been said above, I also think that the religion of the artist 'dictates' in some way the images in the cards. The Robin Wood deck's Hierophant is a perfect example here. (Bluergh.) A Pagan artist who's had bad run-ins with the church has decided to portray the Hierophant card as a very very bad card indeed. :(

As to Arthur Waite, I believe he was a Gnostic Christian, though of course he had the Golden Dawn influences.

Kiama

FourLeafClover