Journaling methods

C_McQueen

Almost everyone tells you to keep a tarot journal, but beyond that, I haven't heard much beyond "record your spreads and card meanings". I think this is great advice, and I DO have a notebook with card meanings in it, but I never get it out and write in it. I'm a daily-ish journal writer and most often, my personal spreads and new impressions and interpretations make it into my personal journal, not my designated tarot journal, which to me isn't ideal, because it makes it much harder to look up things I've learned and giving someone my private journal to share my notes is out of the question!

I guess what I want to know is- what methods do you like to use to keep a tarot journal?

Signy

I've been doing a three card reading everyday. I don't always write down my interpretation of the reading in my journal, but I always write down what cards I pulled. The big thing I'm looking for is patterns, and that's what I actually write about. For example, this week I've drawn two upright cards and one reversal every day. On Monday, I drew all nines. One day my middle card was flanked by swords, another day it was wands.

Finding patterns just really intrigues me and I want to try to document them when I find them explain to myself what I think they might mean. I haven't done it long enough, but I'm really excited to be able to go back one day (like a year from now) and see if I was right (or wrong!) so I can have a better idea about them in the future.

Grizabella

I don't journal and never have about Tarot. I've written down my daily draws a lot but without my comments as to what they meant or anything.

Citrin

I like combining "free form writing" with tarot. I just lay out some cards, no spread or anything, and whatever pops up in my head I write down. Sometimes it's quite poetic, other times it's funny, sometimes just jibberish... But I love it. :)

Trogon