"How to" create a Tarot deck

RiccardoLS

Many roads may bring to same destination.
Or maybe there are not such things as the "same" destination.
Anyway, I would like to address the idea of "how to" a Tarot deck may come to be.

Obviously I have no experience in the art process.
Nor I think I can reasonably address those decks that are a lifetime achievement, and that express everything (sometimes in a very personal and touching way) their authors know and feel about Tarot.
"A" Tarot deck, then... not "The" Tarot deck.

The first step in Tarot deck creation is usually an idea.
I call it idea and not a concept, because there is a powerful difference.
An idea has no shape, yet, no structure, no order to it... it is - at most - a seed, or a spark.
An idea may be a concept [example: I would like to make a deck about Peace], or it may be a question to explore [example: I would like to make a deck where I use only 7 Major Arcana, seen each in three different aspects, plus the Fool (that would be me, obviously)] and see where it takes me. Or it could just be a card, striking true, and needing a deck around her to come forward [Example: I imagine a deck where Death is seen as an unborn child (creepy!)]
The idea is sometimes a drive powerful enough to bring a deck to be. Alas, an idea only cannot make a good deck. The idea must change to a concept, and a concept needs much more detail and clarity.

To explain it better, I will show you this idea as an example:
http://www.loscarabeo.com/files/la_papessa_b.jpg
The idea of this deck had been to bring to a Tarot deck something like a Silent Hill athmosphere.
Seen a single card out of it, I think it is clear how could, just an idea, take shape and form and become a quite powerful card in her own right.
But this is not enough (imho) to make for a whole deck.
Following the above example one should ask himself: "what is to me, to people, a so called Silent Hill athmosphere?". [remember to write the answer, for added clarity]