the Chariot

nisaba

I've been using Tarot professionally, on-and-off, since 1981.

I've been reading personally longer than that.

I did a quick pull for a colleague just then, and got the Chariot. I talked it through, and they walked away satisfied.

And then a thought hit me with the thunder of a thousand chariot-wheels.

In all those years, in a spread for me, I have NEVER ONCE pulled the Chariot.

:bugeyed: :bugeyed: :bugeyed: :bugeyed: :bugeyed:

What the -

Barleywine

Maybe it figured your ideal charioteer was Charlton Heston, and it was ashamed to show its face! :joke:

Or you need to do larger spreads . . .

I can't think of a single card that hasn't come up, but I haven't been keeping track (although there are certainly some that come up much more regularly than others).

Sibylline

Interesting, Nisaba! I can't think of a major that has never showed itself in my own readings. The Chariot and I are old friends as I have drawn that card a lot since I started reading in the early 90s. In fact, your post reminded me of a personal reading that I did just the other day--it forced me to interpret the Chariot from a completely new angle. Love it when that happens.

I wonder if you get a major that consistently shows up in your own readings. If so, I also wonder what its relationship to the Chariot might be.

nisaba

Maybe it figured your ideal charioteer was Charlton Heston, and it was ashamed to show its face! :joke:

<grin> I own the Cosmic Deck, so I can see where that comment came from ...

Or you need to do larger spreads . . .

I like my own spreads. My go-to is twelve cards. Once a year on World Towel Day/World Tarot Day I do the 42 card spread. And depending on how many levels you take it to, the Fibonacci spread can end up consuming several DECKS in a sitting! Hours of fun and jollity, there.

And yes, if I force a reading that is going to use every single card, the Chariot will come out. But if I even do the 42 card spread, it won't. Not ever.