Looking for meaning...

JulieG

Hi all!

As I mention in another thread, I am still learning Thoth and have only really scratched the surface so far. Much of my reading work is therefore a mix of instinct and furious rifling through several text books looking for meanings to the reading!

Sometimes, the spread seems to tell me nothing at all - in fact it seems to give a reading suited to a totally different question. But at the same time, I get vibes that the reading IS relevant - I just can't get the message clearly.

I find one main reason for that is that I can't seem to get Toth to give answers on specific EVENTS: only answers about ME or my emotions (for example). For example, I asked my deck if my attempts to see my car would work out. The first card in the three card spread was 7 cups (debauch). Now I get this card over and over again and always in the first position. I could understand the card in relation to questions about ME, but not in relation to the question about the car sale. I feel as if Thoth gears me always to readings about ME, rather than events.

Am I making sense? I can't quite explain it properly but hopefully you get the gist.

Any thoughts?

Thanks chaps.

InvisibleSoul

Yes, I believe tarot is meant for personal insights more than fortune telling.

I think you're right, the Thoth may be more personal-related than other decks are.

Sounds like you ARE getting their messages loud and clear! :)

Cerulean

Maybe okay in reflecting

Sometimes I am fortunate sometimes to reflect and add insight using Thoth based decks-- that is, adding another perspective when reading for myself and others.

But I believe the Thoth deck shines more as a reflective tool.

If you get good predictive results with your other decks, than your gifts of foresight may lie with those decks. I sometimes do okay at suggesting, sometimes asking questions, but I've not found the Thoth deck as that kind of tool.