Two-deck storytelling machine!

Masa

Okay, guys! This is a bit of a doozy. I tried to be thorough, but don't worry--it's easier than the length of this post implies. Also, it's a lot of fun. :)

Ever since I started learning the tarot meanings, I've wanted to use them as building blocks for fictional stories. I've played with a lot of other people's spreads, and I've gone through a few of my own; this is my favorite so far. It produces diverse and exciting stories, and it helps you practice your reading in a huge variety of ways. The key is: it requires two decks!

FIRST DECK: Big and evocative
SECOND DECK: Small, if possible

If you have plenty of floor space and would prefer more direct inspiration, you could toss out the recommendation for smallness and use something exciting and action-packed for the second. I like using busy, meditative decks for the first one, but using theme decks could help situate the story in a specific genre--or even a fandom, if you want to do some randomized fanfic. :)

PART ONE -- SETTING THE SCENE

The first spread tells you where the story is beginning, who your main character is, what they care about, and who the other players in their life are. Using the first deck, lay out a Celtic Cross spread. I use reversals here to make it nice and complicated. When you get to the tenth (outcome) card, keep drawing until you get a Major. (Ignore the others.)

Look at the spread. Give your character a name. This will probably work with whatever version of the Celtic Cross you use--or with another medium-sized "situational snapshot" spread, if you want to try it that way--but the version of the CC presented at this website is extremely good for it. I'll give my breakdown of how to apply it here in the first comment.