Beginners Deck Creation - Finish Suggestion?

VitR

Hello,

I am new to learning Tarot. In process I have decided to make my first deck to my preference. Also to learn about the cards as I labor through the 78 cards creation.

I am making a poker sized black and white 1893 Vacchetta deck. Very basic print attached to a adhesive card stock. What is a good finish to protect the ink and make the cards easy to shuffle?

I was thinking of simply using transparent contact paper to protect the ink. Although that would seem tacky and hard to shuffle. I am not sure.

Thank You

gregory

Don't use contact paper on one side and not the other or it will curl.

Personally I use a hot laminator.

HudsonGray

Clear contact paper will make the deck too thick to shuffle, you're doing 78 or 156 layers added to the card stock thickness.

And yes, it'll make them curl. Try a practice series of 10 blank cards, the 2" wide clear packing tape laid over each side MAY be thinner, but even that's not going to be ideal.

HudsonGray

Just a thought, how about a clear spray on varnish on both sides?

reall

I would scan it when completed and print with gamecrafter?:))
https://www.thegamecrafter.com/publish/pricing
(they have best price and quality/ linen finish+UV coating!^^
and you are in US so their shipping is good!^^:)))
feel free to ask if you need any help!^^

kwaw

Acrylic Lacquer Spray, Automotive, Clear Gloss. (With usual precautions, well-ventilated area, use a face mask etc.)

kwaw

ps: colour laser print on the textured side of linen cover stock produces a real nice coat that might* be sufficient as is (inkjet though definitely needs further treatment, e.g., a clear gloss acrylic lacquer spray).

However, at 65lb it produces too thick a card using the above method, a 24lb linen paper backing gives a decent thickness, register by eye using a light box.

(For a major arcana 65lb linen cover stock for both back and front is OK, but far too thick for a full deck.)