Templar Tarot Study Group - The use of skulls in this deck

Kyrielle

Something to get started: Why so many skulls?

And the Magic Flute is always open to discussion. I'm studying music-related world mythology to see if I can get some insights that way.

Anyone wanting to jump on? Start here with any suggestions.

-- Kyrielle

Liliana

Hope you dont mind me participating, I dont own the deck but I know where I can see all the cards hehe

Im not exactly sure why so many skulls, its one of the things that puts me off on this otherwise amazing deck. Maybe they are reminders of our own mortality. Also the Knights Templar were surrounded by death, it was a dark time they lived it.

:THP

Jimilyn

Like Liliana, I don't really know why so many skulls, either, but wondered if it had something to do with the times the Knights Templar lived in. Life was quite different back then.

I looked back through the cards after reading your posts. I noticed all the skulls and some skeletons, too. But although prominent in some cards, not so prominent in other cards, and completely absent in many. They just seemed to be a part of what's going on in the cards, and didn't seem to "stick out" or "glare" at me. So as we discuss this more, it will be interesting to try to find out exactly what those skulls and skeletons mean. Their presence didn't put me off any any way...which really does surprise me since I'm certainly not inclined to desire skulls in the art I surround myself with. :D hehehehe

Jimilyn

Dragonfly