Disconcerted by ultra wide orbs in Lilly

RohanMenon

Some context: When I left new age 'pop psychology' astrology behind, I focused on accurate prediction as a metric for successful astrology and adopted the Fagan school's methods of using partile aspects and angularity, in combination with Solar and Lunar returns to make some modest(ly successful) predictions with my friends' charts. (I am an amateur astrologer and not professional, fwiw). The orbs in such methods, whether relating to angularity or partililty, are quite small,which seem to enable accurate timing in prediction (at least it works that way for me)

Now that I'm reading through Lilly, I see has 15 degrees each side as an orb for the Sun. 14 degrees each side for the Moon This is a full sign's worth. So using this width, a chart's Mercury at 12 degrees Sagittarius is within orb of the Sun at 26 degrees Sagittarius. And if one uses classical aspects, more than half the chart is within the orb of the Sun's aspects.

Do classical astrologers really use such wide orbs? If so does it work in practice? I'm finding this a little disconcerting, the Sun and Moon by themselves, and just using the classical aspects, cover almost the complete chart. How does one begin to interpret such wide orbs?

Would any experienced astrologer like to comment?

Thanks in advance

Barleywine

As I understand it from my traditional studies, at one time all aspects were "by sign" rather than by degree of angular separation, with cross-sign aspects disallowed. So all planets in Fire signs that weren't conjunct were automatically trine to one another. That casts a different light on things. By Lilly's time it seems to have passed out of use, but 14 or 15 degrees of orb certainly encompasses that model.

RohanMenon

Thanks Barleywine