What are your favourite books about...

Chrystella

There are so many books about the tarot! I thought I'd do a little crowdsourcing and find out what some of your favourite titles are around a few topics where I'm looking to expand my knowledge (and my library).

I'm increasingly interested diving deeper into the history of tarot. I read primarily with RWS and I'm more than a complete novice with that deck. I'm also wanting to learn more about Marseilles, which I'm finding a bit challenging because a lot of what I read seems to project RWS onto it, and these two decks feel very different to me. My third interest is the Thoth and you can consider me a noob with that one.

I've been browsing the Tarot Books & Media thread, but I'd love to get your personal recommendations as well.

gregory

Cynthia Giles - Tarot: History, Mystery and Lore. Very readable and looks at every possible theory of tarot's development - with cheerful scepticism. I LOVE it ! It also has a fantastic bibliography, which has cost me heaps :(

Paul Huson: Mystical Origins of the Tarot: From Ancient Roots to Modern Usage

Robert Place: The Tarot: History, Symbolism & Divination

For individual traditions - we all have our preferences. For Thoth you NEED to read the Book of Thoth - but I'd take it alongside DuQuette -
Understanding Aleister Crowley's Thoth Tarot, and (for me, but not always for others) Snuffin: The Thoth Companion.

TdM is tougher; one very good one that's easily available and affordable is Lee Bursten's booklet that comes with the Lo Scarabeo deck. Other good stuff includes Yoav Ben-Dov's Tarot - The Open Reading and Jean-Michel David's Reading the Marseille Tarot.

I'll let someone else think on the Smith-Waite deck. :D

RunningWild

Cynthia Giles - Tarot: History, Mystery and Lore. Very readable and looks at every possible theory of tarot's development - with cheerful scepticism. I LOVE it ! It also has a fantastic bibliography, which has cost me heaps :(