First-Time Deck Creator Seeking Advice

redandblackflag

Hello, friends!

I am creating a spin-off of the Rider-Waite. It is very similiar and very detailed, but what makes it unique is that the entire deck will be made out of construction paper! The images are then scanned in and cropped.

I am seeking advice on multiple questions...

1. All of the art is completely original and cut out by hand by me. However, I'm still concerned about the copyright US games has on the Rider-Waite. What are the specifics as far as what I can amd cannot do, especially in terms of word choice when I'm marketing it?

2. I originally wanted to use The Game Crafter, Kickstarter, and an Itsy store to market it... probably still will. I have never used these services before. Another option that came to mind was marketing this idea directly to US Games. Has anyone done this before and would it be recommended? The issue that comes to mind is that although I try to keep them consistent, the art is a bit all over the place, as each card is semi-unique in color and style, and I'm limited by resources.

3. Assuming I go the indie route, where do I begin marketing and talking to people about my deck, and what should prices be? I'd like to offer small posters, postcards, original art etc. as kickstarter prizes. I am not at all well known by the tarot community but will soon ne a recognizable figure in the radical community as an anti-capitalist children's book author (yeah, yeah, the irony, okay) :)

Any help with these questions would be much appreciated!

Lorelei Douglas

Seeking advice...

Hello, friends!

I am creating a spin-off of the Rider-Waite. It is very similiar and very detailed, but what makes it unique is that the entire deck will be made out of construction paper! The images are then scanned in and cropped.