Some advice on symbols

Torchwood

Hi
I'm looking at making some decks for personal use only but as I'm not a good artist I'm using photos and pictures. But how important is the symbols that appear on many of the cards? For example the High Priestess between two colums. I'm not sure ho I'd be able to add symbols so does this matter if you know what the card represents?

Alta

Depends on whether it is strictly a personal deck or you want other people to be able to use it. Also I would say that you don't have to cram every symbol onto every card. There are a few decks like that and they are impossibly cluttered, see here.

Most artists will express what the, for example, High Priestess means to them and may or may not use specific symbols. But if it is too far 'out there', only the original artist and perhaps a few others will be able to relate to it.

There is a deck published by Adam McLean which is just flowing colours for each card, see here. Yes, you can get that far away from symbols, but only a small group of people will find it to be 'tarot' per se.

So, you can go from cramming every possible symbol on to only the artistic impression, and it will be 'tarot' and usable at least to you.

Alta

Ryan

Hi
I'm looking at making some decks for personal use only but as I'm not a good artist I'm using photos and pictures. But how important is the symbols that appear on many of the cards? For example the High Priestess between two colums. I'm not sure ho I'd be able to add symbols so does this matter if you know what the card represents?

Hey Torchwood, how are you.