Deck Distress

pumog

Hi All

After years of searching I thought I had overcome my fussiness and finally found a deck I liked - the Victorian Romantic. I'm new to formal tarot study but I felt inspired to do it so I started doing daily draws and journalling beautifully in a beautiful, special journal. All was peachy until to my deep distress I picked a card, had a look and found it more distressing than any card I've ever seen before, more distressing than the tower, distressing to the point of finding it obscene. Here's what I posted in the VR study place:

http://www.tarotforum.net/showthread.php?t=76370&page=2

I'm cursed with knowing too much about what is shown in the card. Now I feel like chucking the whole deck in the bin! I mean, if that card came up, how could I read it knowing what I know? "You are in an impossible situation. You will suffer. There's no way out". Has anyone else found that one card in a deck made them totally hit a stumbling block? I'm really sad to abandon this deck as I liked the other cards... so far.

Maybe this means I should never buy without looking at all the cards, but it's not always possible...

Thanks

Serenia

Hi pumog,

usually I'm not a big fan of taking cards out of a deck, but since you get such an intense emotional reaction from it, would that be an option for you? You said you really like the other cards, so it would be sad not to use the deck anymore simply because of this one card.

So far, fortunately, I haven't got any deck where one card spoils it all for me. Sometimes it takes me a while to get used to a certain card, though.

pumog

Hi

Yes, it's a good idea, I was thinking of that too! I'd love to tear that card up into tiny pieces and replace it with some other one, but I think all their other similar ones are either out of print or very expensive... so frustrating!

The crowned one