Bohemian Gothic Tarot - Death

Mondlichtjaegerin

I'm quite new to tarot and thus have neither a lot of knowledge nor experience with it – therefore I can just write about my personal impression of the card.

Death

For me this card has two clearly separated areas: the skeletal figure of Death itself with two bodies in the front and the architectural structure in the background of the picture. The three figures in the foreground seem very real and material to me. Death tells me that this is his part of the reality, his viewpoint on truth and our world: the fleeting nature of everything physical. But this is nothing to be feared – it's just exactly this: a point of view (therefore his eyes, turned on the bodies on the ground), a single aspect of our reality. This card shows me how Death (or the Running Time itself in its symbolic form) sees me: as a changing assembly of matter.
There is no scythe in his hand because he is no executioner (as he is depicted in other illustrations – threateningly looming over the living). I don't get even the slightest feeling of menace from this picture. Instead he carries a hourglass as an insignia, thus telling me that he is just an aspect of time itself. Time can be seen as creating or destroying – both being actually two sides of one and the same process: the course of time. So Death is in my understanding the personification of our way to look at one side of the Wheel of Time.
On his shoulder is a cloak in a regal red draped. It seems to signify his position as someone whose decisions can't be ignored, someone who „reigns“ over physical matter. But on the other hand red is the colour of blood, of passion and life. And suddenly I see a short daydream-like sequence: The red cloak moves, wraps itself around the naked skeleton, becomes muscles and living flesh – and the circle of life is closed, the hourglass has been turned again.