Etteilla's Card Meanings

DamianStraton

Hello,

Do any of you know where I can find Etteilla's card meanings for all 78 cards.

Huck

In the local search engine you find some threads to Etteilla and some include meanings of the cards. Unluckily these threads are often rather long, so you have to search for that, what you precisely want.

You can limit the search results by reducing them to the articles of author "MikeH", who had some intensive attempts in this matter. Also you could limit them to that, what appeared in this forum.

DamianStraton

Thank you, Huck!

PathWalker

Some meanings for the minor cards are written in the descriptions of cards in

Mystical Origins of the Tarot
Paul Huson

But I am not an expert in the field, adn have no idea how "good" these would be considered to be by scholars.

Pathwalker

gregory

Have you the book that comes with the Grimaud deck ? Would that be adequate, I wonder ?

DamianStraton

Some meanings for the minor cards are written in the descriptions of cards in

Mystical Origins of the Tarot
Paul Huson

But I am not an expert in the field, adn have no idea how "good" these would be considered to be by scholars.

Pathwalker

Thank you Pathwalker. That book is referenced in Tarot Wisdom by Rachel Pollack. I did not look at it but it seems to be good.

Just found another one:

The Divinatory Tarot: The Key to Reading the Cards and the Fates Paperback
by Papus

I have no idea how good the translations are, but I imagine they would be acceptable. I did not cross-reference them.

DamianStraton

Have you the book that comes with the Grimaud deck ? Would that be adequate, I wonder ?

I did not, and I do wonder about the accuracy as well. A little research lead me to a blog that talks about that: