Antique Dondorf value?

LindaMechele

I'm just starting to learn about Lenormand and eventually would love to have a real live vintage one, so am trying to learn about values now so I can know how to judge that when I decide to buy.

How much is this deck worth and how old is it? It's a full 36 card deck, no box or anything else (just the cards), and two aren't original but are reproductions (the two obviously-newer ones in the photo). The seller wants about $60 including shipping for it.

Is that low, about right, or too high? Is the deplorable shape really what makes it worth that much less than the $200+ I see for others? Or is there more to it, like are version 4s (which I think this is - more info below) worth less than versions 1, 2, and 3 since they're not as old? And I'd imagine the two repro cards also affect the price negatively, yes? I know it makes me feel that way, that I'd pay more for a fully deck of all-original cards.

In my Googling, I think I've found that it's a version 4 of the Dondorf, but that's about all I can figure out. I found this site says it could be as late as 1933 (it gives a range of publication dates as about 1878 to 1933, a copy on Tag Joritt's site (same backs and same company stamp on the front) that says her version is based on a deck from the late 1880s, and this site shows photos of a copy of a 1910 version.

But I'm having a hard time finding a value for this version in this bad of shape. Anyone got a clue?

Thanks, y'all!

Le Fanu

I think that's a fair price.

It isn't complete. It has the verses which aren't as desirable as the playing card inserts (at least that has been my impression from watching sales). I have an incomplete Dondorf like that - exactly the same (I assume; must be around the same date) but with French verses in that gothick script but I'm afraid I can't remember what I paid for it. I think it was probably around that price. I certainly wouldn't have paid $100 for it since I knew it was incomplete.