French translation of Major Arcana

Nico2a

Few days ago, a member of this forum said that it would be interesting to have the translation of the RWS major Arcanas in french.
Well, this may interest french speaking people, and maybe some others as the RWS was inspired by the "tarot de Marseille" :)

I'm a beginner, so in this post I only relay what I've read from different source (2 of which are at the end of the post).

On the left, the RWS names, on the right the french translation and between parenthesis the numbers and the name in the TDM (tarot de Marseille) when it differs.

I - The Magician => I. Le Magicien (ou le Bateleur)
II - The High Priestess=> II. La Grande Prêtresse (ou la Papesse)
III - The Empress => III. L'Impératrice
IV - The Emperor => IV. L'Empereur (IIII. L'Empereur)
V - The Hierophant => V. Le Hiérophante (ou le Pape)
VI - The Lovers => VI. Les Amoureux (ou L'Amoureux)
VII - The Chariot => VII. Le Chariot
VIII - Strength => VIII. La Force (XI. La Force)
IX - The Hermit => IX. L'Ermite (VIIII. L'Ermite)
X - Wheel of Fortune => X. La Roue de Fortune
XI - Justice => XI. La Justice (VIII. La Justice)
XII - The Hanged Man => XII. Le Pendu
XIII - Death => XIII. La Mort ("L'Arcane sans nom")
XIV - Temperance => XIV. Tempérance (XIIII. Tempérance)
XV - The Devil => XV. Le Diable
XVI - The Tower => XVI. La Tour (ou la Maison Dieu)
XVII - The Star => XVII. L'Étoile
XVIII - The Moon => XVIII. La Lune
XIX - The Sun => XIX. Le Soleil (XVIIII. Le Soleil)
XX - Judgement => XX. Le Jugement
XXI - The World => XXI. Le Monde
0 - The Fool => (XXII). Le Fou (ou le Mat)

Some details:

- in the RWS the order/numbers of Strengh and Justice are interverted (VIII and XI) in comparaison with the TDM. It is considered an aberration by TDM's readers (obviously!) - I think this part needs to be developped... may be in a future post if the answer is not already in the forum.