Tarot Journalling

Manfeex

Hey guys!

Sorry if this is in the wrong section but I'm just wondering about tarot journaling.

I have just started doing it about a week ago, and every time I'm writing about a card and I'm getting different meaning to it, then I'm from other people or the internet.

Is it good thing or a bad thing?

Sorry I'm generally new to this even though I have been doing tarot on and off for a couple of years but I just read it from the books or online

CrystalSeas

Tarot journaling is an excellent method for combining your own intuition about what the card means with the other meanings you can find.

What is even more interesting is to watch your own understanding expand as you see the card over and over again in different contexts. Looking back you'll be able to see how your own intuitive interpretation changed over time.

It is not at all unusual for your first impression of a card to be somewhat different from the "book meaning". As you delve deeper into card meanings, you'll begin to see where you overlap with the common meanings, and where a card is somewhat different for you.

Then, when you move to other decks with other symbolism, you'll be in a good position to compare how you interpret that card differently depending on the art work of the deck.

Keep journaling and keep looking back to see how your knowledge has blossomed.

ldiddy

Any tarot journaling is good journaling if you ask me. Different meanings whether your own, from one book, from the internet may contradict themselves, but reading and writing them will be instrumental to your learning process.

To this day when I journal, I'll write the spread questions and cards pulled for each position. Depending on how much time I have, I'll write my interpretation and then go check and see what the book says. Again, time permitting, I will add that to my entry.