Beginning the journey- a second deck

VioletMoon

Hi all! i'm pretty new to this forum but I've been thinking about this for a while and I thought it would be nice to hear/ see some thoughts by more seasoned readers and learn about your experiences.

I'm very very new to tarot- only a few months. I've loved divination and had many tarot readings in the past, but I was inspired by a recent reading to to begin learning, as a lot of the information was to "connect with myself more." I loved the deck the reader used, and bought that one. It was Siolo Thompson's Linestrider Tarot which I think was a little bit of a mistake because all of the learning/ reading I've been doing is based on the RW system (Dusty White's book among others). However, i just love the imagery and it really feels so uplifting to me.

I did just buy a second deck, the Morgan Greer. I went for this one because of how much more traditional it is in its imagery. I guess, now though, I'm struggling to connect to it and connect to the meanings because I now associate the meanings with that deck and with the less traditional images. I also don't know (as in rotely memorized) all the traditional keywords/ meanings yet either, so maybe it's too early for a second deck? Or maybe I'm just over thinking?

So I guess what I want to know is, when you were at this point in your learning and tarot journey, how was it for you to get your second deck? I feel very out of sorts and much less confident with the new deck, to the point where I'm almost put off by it. It also feels different, which is weird for me- stiffer, more waxy, which I'm not at all used to. I want to play with the cards and grow my intuition and learn, which is why I bought a second more traditional deck (I've been bitten!), but I feel weird with the Morgan Greer. Maybe I'm just not used to it? Or am I trying to run before I'm walking? Any thoughts or ideas? How was it for you when you branched out to more than one deck?

page of ghosts