Need some help learning/mastering midpoints

RohanMenon

Hello,
I'm an amateur astrologer trying to break away from psychological approaches and to more event oriented astrology.

As a part of this effort, I'm trying to learn the use of midpoints (within the context of Western Sidereal and David Monroe's - dadsnook's - approaches. but am a little stuck, and would appreciate some assistance. The attraction of course is that one can do away with houses etc and still get good readings.

The 'methodology' of midpoints seem to be this.

Suppose a planet is at the midpoint of two planets. For e.g in my chart, Mars is at the midpoint of Pluto and Uranus within 4 minutes, written as Mars = Uranus/Pluto.

So far, so good.

I am a little stuck wrt the interpretation. The 'standard approach' seems to be to look it up in a book like Ebertin's, which gives "Principle : The process of transformation" etc and positive and negative 'pyschological manifestations' etc.

This has two problems:

(1) I can't see how Ebertin came up with this principle. Are we supposed to blindly take this on trust and memorize (say 10 planets + 4 angles) * 14 = 196 interpretations?

There must be a structured way of combining the 'essential nature' of Pluto and Uranus without looking it up in a book (like interpreting say "Mercury trine Venus"), and also some theory about how three planets in a 'midpoint' structure combine.

I haven't been able to find any principle by which three planets forming a midpoint combine to give an interpretation, *without* looking it up.

(2) In the absence of houses and signs, how does one customize the meaning of these midpoints for people born within days of each other? I know very different people all born within the same week in the same city for which this midpoint is identical.

I am just a beginner, so these may be very stupid questions with obvious answers, but any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Rohan

Barleywine