Filigree Tarot by Teo Hoble - Work in Progress

Fire

Hey guys! Whew! As you can see... I'm drawing/painting a tarot deck. Didn't want to post about it here until I've made SOME progress, because in all honesty I'm still kind of intimidated by the massive Tarot knowledge many of the members here have... I began working on this thing in February 2015, and so far have only managed to sketch and then outline the Major Arcana and the four aces.

Here is what I have so far: http://i.imgur.com/necxwl7.jpg

At the time I began work on the deck, the whole thing seemed like a good idea. I'm an artist, I love symbolism and playing around with concepts, and I love tarot. So what could possibly go wrong? Well, honestly, after having sketched and outlined only 26 of the 78 classic tarot cards, I'm coming to realize what a daunting task I picked for myself!... :)) I still intend to finish drawing the entire deck, but I have no idea when it'll be completed or what I'll do with it afterwards. I was originally looking at a "one year" expiration date for the project, but now I see it extending way over that time-frame! :joke: Ideally, I might try and look for a way to make it available for others to buy. Kickstarter? Etsy? Send it to tarot publishers and see what they think? No. Idea. Whatsoever. The fact that I live in Romania only makes things worse because if I try self-publishing then shipping fees will make the deck undesirable even for those who might have some interest in it. But yeah, these issues will belong to a Teo from waaaaaaay into the future - let's see the whole thing finished, and then worry about silly things like printing, right? :p

For the time being, I'll treat the whole thing as what it is: a personal project... and a collection of almost 80 (cards, card backs and backgrounds) new images to add to my portfolio :).