Wanderwust Lenormand. My first creature.

eldritchgreene

Hola Amigos! My name is Eldritch, I'm quite new around here but I already love this deck creation community, it's fantastic!

I've decided to jump aboard the deck creation ship and wanted to share my first (proper) attempts with you.

I work as a costume designer and very often dabble with graphic design. I do a lot of repurposing, modifications, alterations, etc. for my costuming work and I tend to apply that DIY spirit to other things as well, so I've made my own “versions” of Tarot decks for personal use in the past. Gilding, aging, changing colour palettes, redesigning, resizing. I've experimented.

Recently I went about making my “ideal” Lenormand. I realized I didn't have a go-to deck and I basically admired different qualities from all the decks I use for my readings, so I went ahead and started assembling my ultimate deck. I wanted a classic, traditional Lenormand with a modern twist, eventually I came up with my very own creature and decided to call it the Wanderwust Lenormand.

I took my favorite antique cards, a C.L. Wüst Lenormand from the 1890s, and remixed them. I started with a clean modern layout and then did all sorts of modifications, including changing the colour palette by leaving the card symbols in full-colour and setting the backgrounds to monochrome (achieving a sort of pop-out effect.) I also made new Man and Woman cards to use for same-sex readings, and added in playing card inserts and card backs from other antique decks I love.

You can read more about how this Franken-Lenormand creature came alive on my blog: http://www.wanderingoracle.com/introducing-the-wanderwust-lenormand-deck/