Other Atheist Tarot Readers?

Dogs&Coffee

I'm a pretty staunch skeptic and athiest with slightly spiritual leanings, but I've been having a positive experience with tarot over the past few weeks and mostly accurate readings, even on anonymous internet readings. I don't know whether to chalk it up to being able to just give good advice, or what... I tend to just do 3 Card readings in rapid fire fashion, but so far I've gotten all but 3 readings on the money, and the botched 3 were mostly because I was paying more attention to the TV than I was to the cards... it's kind of weird, honestly.

Are there any other athiest / agnostic readers, and what have your experiences been?

AnemoneRosie

I'm atheist/agnostic. I'm also a professional reader. I don't think that they're mutually exclusive, at all! I also know that you're not the only one. Or that we're not the only ones.

One way to explain it is that the cards open up a dialogue, or a conversation. Most images will do that, really - a fair few folks will say that a painting or a piece of art really speaks to them, for example. And sometimes people will say that music really resonates with them. Neither art nor music are a belief system, and yet they can still touch us on that level (which is why spiritual practices will incorporate music and art to get through to people.

There's more that I want to say but I'm falling asleep. I'll try to remember to come back to this.

euripides

Atheist here. I've got a very solid grounding in Biblical & Western traditions which gives me the semiotic tools for reading.