Lo Scarabeo Tarot - Bravo!

Lee

I received this deck by Mark McElroy and Anna Lazzarini a few days ago (I had ordered from Amazon, and they said it wouldn't be available for months, but suddenly there it was in the mail). I'm really excited about this deck for several reasons. I suppose I might be biased because a) I'm a Lo Scarabeo author too, and b) I've worked with Mark (I assisted in a small way on his book Beginner's Guide to Tarot). On the other hand, I think I've been pretty good about stating my honest opinions about decks, positive or negative, over the years, so take it as you will!

I love the Lo Scarabeo Tarot. Much as I enjoy theme decks (and having created two of my own), I also like to read with "back to basics" kinds of decks, which for me means decks which echo the first deck I worked with, the RWS. This group for me includes the Gilded Tarot, the Robin Wood, the Hanson-Roberts, the Morgan-Greer -- decks which don't reflect any particular theme or culture other than a pseudo-Medieval environment, and symbology based on late 19th century occultism. The Lo Scarabeo Tarot is firmly in that category and to my mind deserves to be considered in the same rank as those other decks I listed. In fact, I think it represents an improvement on those decks.