Weird interactions with clients

nightowlwoman

I'm curious if any of you have had the experience of reading for people who associate tarot with black magic and mention demons and things of that sort? I am a professional reader and I always refer people to my site/ethics page before they receive a reading from me to make sure that I'm a good fit for their needs. My goal is to offer objective guidance, essentially, for folks who need help with transitions in life or are seeking clarity.

So when I had a client who told me that his background with tarot was tied with ideas of evil, voodoo and demonology I was not really sure how to respond other than to say that that sort of stuff has no place in my life. Has anyone else had a similar experience? I actually felt the need to smudge my home after he left (I am a kitchen witch as well). Thoughts? Experiences?

Barleywine

Because the first interaction I have with my clients occurs when they walk into the shop where I read, I have no chance to pre-condition them. Since I returned to professional reading last Fall after many years away, I haven't encountered this type of sitter. Most likely I would try to find out why they bothered to come for a reading if their prior experience has been negative or their fears appear to be dominating them (maybe it was gifted to them?), then I would want to know whether they really want to go through with it. I have a disarming and reassuring style, so I don't get many sitters "putting up a wall." I would be completely honest with them and explain that I don't think the practice of tarot alone can bring on that kind of vulnerability. On the other hand, if their apparent purpose is to use the results of the reading for some kind of "dark" objective, I would send them back to the shop-keeper for a refund. But that has never happened (yet) either.

Grizabella