Newbie question: Visconti Sforza

The Happy Squirrel

Newbie question: Which decks and which editions?

Hi all.

I have found myself obsessing over collecting historical decks. So after identifying which is which in term of their historical timeline, I decided that I will need the Soprafino Deck, Tarot de Marseilles, and the Visconti Sforza. There are so many versions! And I don't know what the differences are, so I can't decide which is for me.

For now, I have the Mary Packard's Visconti-Sforza. But then I realized that this is a 'restored' deck, designed to read with, i.e. as a 'functioning' deck.

If I were to try to obtain a deck which is the exact copy of the original, which version of each of the above decks should I be looking for....?

Also, other than the ones I mentioned, is there any other deck I should be looking at?

Thank you all in advance! :)

Thanks so much!!

jean bosco

Tarot de Marseille

Hi Happy Squirrel,

I'm a newbie myself but I did my own little research already.

I think one of the oldest available Tarot de Marseille is the Jean Noblet, which is in this case a reproduction (Flornoy). You can look it up here. I have the Dodal from Flornoy and it's a great deck - highly recommended
http://www.tarot-history.com/Jean-Noblet/jean-noblet-page-3.html

This Pierre Madenie is a facsimile, which I find very appealing. And you can click "Historic Tarots History" where you can look up a lot of old decks...
http://tarot-de-marseille-heritage.com/english/catalogue_madenie1709.html

There are lots of threads on that matter which TDM to go for. Just one thread/post.
http://www.tarotforum.net/showpost.php?p=1211192&postcount=26

The Happy Squirrel

Hi Jean
Thanks! I think I might have already bought the Madenie Marseiles on Amazon. I think US Games bought some from those guys (tarot de marseilles heritage) to resell?
There are so many Marseilles decks it is giving me a headache...... :/
Thanks again!

Wendywu