Query regarding the various Path systems

conversus

I have read with deepening interest many of the threads connected with the study of the Kabbalah in this forum. I am rather new to the study of the Kabbalah, and perhaps not so much a student. My question regards the pathways that connect the Sephiroth. Various systems ascribe different letters to the paths, with some sort of internal consistency. At the moment I seem to have a preference, but that may be neither here nor there. My question regards the Yetziratic Text associated with the paths. Is there a certain constancy of association of these texts as they "describe" the given path between any x and any y? Or, do they too float about among the spheres as the letters seem to.

If these associations also vary, is there an easy to compare them?

Thanks for what ever help or advice you can share!

jmd

The Sefer Yetzirah does not itself place the letters on any so-called 'paths' that are presented on later models to connect the emanations in various ways. In fact, the Sefer Yetzirah is quite clear that the letters are place in a circle (or sphere - or the plural of these).

See the text, in most versions 2:4 (I have transcribed a version of the Sefer Yetzirah here on my Fourhares.com site if interested.

conversus

I think that I need to rephrase my question. In several monographs following the Golden Dawn Tradition and I believe at least one other if memory serves, the "pathways" between the Sefirot are associated with a text from the 32 Paths of Wisdom. A very readable collection is available as Appendix II in Kaplan's Sefer Yetzirah. . .

My question involves these associations. For example the Golden Dawn associated the "pathway" betwixt Hesed and Gevurah with the text: Intelligence of the Secret of Spiritual Activities : so called because of the influence diffused by it from the most high and exalted supreme Glory. I believe that they also associate this with the letter Tet.