deck creation ideas tips??!!...

yaraluna

HOla all!

Well, i've been collecting images for the past year or two from magazines etc to create my own collage deck. I got encouraged after learning about the tarot of transformation creator. HOWEVER, i have some Q's: I was going to do the whole cut paste thing but now that my scanner is working, i need to know any tips or advice when it comes to scanning images (small and large) to use for this type of project. Also, Chronata's beautiful deck inspired me to look at the possibility of making my deck from my own art. however, I am a visual artist and i do my art from intuition and inspiration rather than force, if you know what i mean. so i am not quite sure how to approach the deck creation bug (which i've had for many years now) on my own rather than through collage.

any ideas, suggestions, tips, links, etc???? How to find my passion theme? style? what medium to use? etc etc

thank you

yaraluna

Astra

Urk. "And where do you get your ideas, Mr. Heinlein?"

I'm being a bit facetious, but it's a really tough question, because it's YOUR ideas you need. How to let them come (or charge) to the surface?

Pick a single card. Try a collage. Let yourself be dissatisfied. Sketch something. Sketch something else. What you're looking for is the moment when you hear yourself saying "No, da**it, it ought to look like THIS".

DON'T let yourself worry that you might not be a good enough artist - even if you aren't now, by the time you've done the first pass on 78 different images, you probably will be.

DO expect that everything is going to change, not once, but many times in the process of both discovering your ideas and honing your talents.

Use whatever medium is most comfortable to start with, but you might want to try something a bit different every 10 cards or so. If you wind up going back and redoing because you've fallen in love with a new medium, accept it as part of the process.