Proximity of Sun/Merc/Venus

Ophiel

One issue I never quite resolved when I studied astrology 'a few years back' (wishful thinking) was the natal 'closenessl of these three 'planets', Sun, Mercury, and Venus. That keeps the flavors of them all in the same corner. I don't have in front of me the max distance that these three can be apart, but it is something like a few signs, right? This negates the possibility of say a Sun in Libra, with Mercury in Aries and Venus in Capricorn. Yes, house placement is a way around this problem (possibly only I see it as a problem. LOL.) And the aspects between the 'planets' will obviously color the expression of everything in the chart. But this keeps the quality of these three 'planets' in the same basic quadrant, no?

I've never read any books on the personal planets, and perhaps this 'problem' is addressed in such a book?

Minderwiz

That's correct Mac,

From an Earth perspective Mercury never strays more than 28 degrees from the Sun in either direction - when it reaches its greatest Eastern elongation it appears to stop and then move backwards - i.e. it turns Retrograde. It carries on Retrograde till it reaches its greatest Western elongation and then stops it then begins to move direct again and towards the Sun.

The same holds with Venus although the elongation is around 48 degrees. This means that if Mercury is not in the same sign as the Sun it must be in one of the two adjacent signs. Venus can just about be two signs further from the Sun but is more likely only one.

Ophiel

Minderwiz wrote: The same holds with Venus although the elongation is around 48 degrees. This means that if Mercury is not in the same sign as the Sun it must be in one of the two adjacent signs. Venus can just about be two signs further from the Sun but is more likely only one.