Traditions: German vs. French vs. any other

onesun

What are the main differences in the mainline Lenormand traditions? and what are the finer differences as well?

starstruck

Lenormand traditions

Maybe you will find this page useful. https://jaseoncards.wordpress.com/lenormand-card-meanings/
Jason talks about the French and the German traditions. And you can compare the difference in the keywords between the two.

I'm not an expert but I believe the main differences are that sexuality in the German tradition is related to the lilies and in the French it's to the whip. (The reason that whip is related to sexuality in the French tradition, if I can remember correctly, is because the French word for whip also means wand or male genitalia.)

The other big difference I can remember is that in the German tradition ancher means work and in the french it's fish.

Tag_jorrit

You will also find a whole lot of information in the above sticky thread, "Helpful Threads and Resources" where you will find NoCoolName's meanings, which are German. Russian meanings and a bunch more things. Have a look.

onesun

Starstruck, Tag and Padma- Thank you so much! I've been really tied up here trying to decipher the differences on my own but these are great resources. Much appreciated!! ~OS

starstruck

Lenormand traditions

You're welcome!

onesun

Okay.. now... I copied the info from Jase's site (link above) and I put them side by side and preened them very carefully. In the end nine card meanings were exactly alike. (see list below). The other 27 cards were either fairly close I would say, a couple few had same meanings but had some little twist and/or added meanings and in only a few instances they were very different..