TdM from an art history perspective

l'appeso

hi,

I'm still learning about tarots but there's something which seems just not right in the back of my mind. The documented history states that TdM stems from the Visconti tarot, BUT that seems illogical from a purely estethical point of view: the style of Visconti is clearly 15th century while the TdM is certainly older (I would say 14th century?). Why a maitre cartier in the 17th and 18th century had to use such an archaic style?
that makes no sense to me, unless he would be referring to an older tradition... what do you think?

Ross G Caldwell

hi,

I'm still learning about tarots but there's something which seems just not right in the back of my mind. The documented history states that TdM stems from the Visconti tarot, BUT that seems illogical from a purely estethical point of view: the style of Visconti is clearly 15th century while the TdM is certainly older (I would say 14th century?). Why a maitre cartier in the 17th and 18th century had to use such an archaic style?
that makes no sense to me, unless he would be referring to an older tradition... what do you think?

I don't know any historians who argue that the TdM evolved from the Visconti Tarots. What Michael Dummett argued in 1980 is that what he called the "C" ordering of trumps originated in Milan, and this order spread to France in the wake of the French invasions of Italy, beginning in 1494.

The "C" order (we also call it "western"), is characterized above all by the position of Temperance, at number 14 after Death. This is also the only family of orderings found outside of Italy.