Do you need a spread?

Garrettlonewolfe

I am relatively new to tarot, and I have tried readings with and without a spread. I find that spreads can be advantageous as they are more prescriptive. However, I am siding towards doing more readings without a spread as I find the readings a bit more accurate.

Just wondering what others thinkA? I have read in other threads that some feel new readers should think of avoiding non-spread readings, and I can see the logic of that. In others' experience is this an absolute?

shells

How are you laying the cards if not in a spread? Are you shuffling, then reading the top one, or do you lay 3-4 cards out and read them without using a prescribed meaning for each position? I think either way can be ok if that works better for you and gives a story in relatio to the question.

I have heard of people then moving the cards around to where they think they fit better, I don't feel that this is purely tarot, more likely that the reader is psychic (even if they don't realise it) and using the cards partially or wholly as a tool .

As in life, there are no absolutes. If its accurate, reliable, works for you and you are happy with it, then use what works for you.

Chiriku

This is my opinion:

This is a matter of personal preference. I disfavor the "three cards with no positions" method. Some people take to this like a fish to water and are able to spin coherent narratives out of three positionless cards (see, for example, the Robert Place method)....However, quite a few people on this forum who are in the beginning stages of learning (i.e. first few years of studying tarot) use this method simply because they see others around them using it, despite the fact that they struggle to get clear answers from it. For those people, I recommend either:

(1) spreads with predetermined positions [such as the ones people post in the Tarot Spreads sub-forum]

or